When you create a new post or edit an existing post in Knowledgeworker Share, you can send a notification to users enrolled in the post. You have two options: "Notify future participants" and "Notify new participants". This article explains the differences and the available settings.
TABLE OF CONTENTS
- Notify future participants
- Notify new participants
- Where can I enable and disable the "Notify future participants" prompt?
- Where can I set the "Notify future participants" prompt by default?
Notify future participants
The "General: automatically notify future participants" prompt is displayed as a pop-up when creating and publishing posts. When enabled, all users enrolled in this post at a later point receive a notification that the post is available to them.
This affects:
- users who are newly created in the system,
- users who receive new category values, and
- users who are enrolled only later, when the enrolment period begins.
As a rule, this option is not enabled, or is used only for very important posts, to avoid a flood of notifications for new users.
You can enable and disable this option later in advanced post editing.

Notify new participants
The "Target group edited: notify new participants" prompt is displayed when categories are selected while creating the post. When you enable the notification, all users enrolled through category-based assignment when the post is published are informed about the new post.
The prompt is also shown when the post is edited later and its category values, and therefore its target group, are changed. When confirmed, all users newly enrolled in the post because of their category values are notified that the post is newly available to them. Users already enrolled in the post do not receive another notification.
Where can I enable and disable the "Notify future participants" prompt?
You can specify whether the future-participant notification prompt is shown in your system. Navigate to Administration > Notifications > Settings > Post settings, then set the "Show the 'Automatically notify future participants' prompt" switch to ON or OFF. When the switch is OFF, no pop-up is displayed and no notifications are sent by default when users are newly enrolled in an existing post as future participants.

Where can I set the "Notify future participants" prompt by default?
To define the default for notifying future participants, navigate to Administration > Notifications > Settings > Post settings, then set the "Default value for the user prompt for 'Post: new post'" switch to ON or OFF. This setting determines the switch's default position in the prompt shown when publishing posts. You can adjust the selection individually whenever a post is published.
This setting has an effect only if the "Show the 'Automatically notify future participants' prompt" switch is ON.
Was this article helpful?
That’s Great!
Thank you for your feedback
Sorry! We couldn't be helpful
Thank you for your feedback
Feedback sent
We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article

